Anna Fay, Marilyn Saviola

The NYS Independent Living Council (NYSILC) has inducted three giants of ICS and disability rights history among the first honorees of the newly created New York State Disability Rights Hall of Fame.

Marilyn E. Saviola, ICS Senior Vice President of Advocacy and the Health Access Project, will be honored along with posthumous awards for Anna Cali Fay and Terence J. Moakley at an induction ceremony on Thursday, April 26, 2018 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Troy.

Marilyn was recognized for her work in advocating for the state’s Consumer Directed Personal Assistance Program (CDPAP—referred to as CDPAS at ICS), which has enabled New Yorkers with disabilities to hire and direct their home care aides, a capability that has kept thousands out of institutions and living independently in their communities. Marilyn was a leader in the push to exempt aides hired under CDPAP from rules requiring nurses to handle certain simple medical functions, such as administering medications and changing wound dressings. Her work in advocating for access to medical facilities for women with disabilities was also cited among the reasons for her induction.

Anna Fay, who passed away on December 15, 2017, after a brief illness, served on the ICS Board and then for more than a decade as Senior Vice President of Independent Living Services. Many members knew her as the chairperson of Member Council meetings and the spark behind the creation of the Civics League for Disability Rights. She was a renowned leader in the New York disability rights movement beginning in the 1970s and up until her death.

Anna, who contracted polio in 1944 at the age of six, was also a role model and mentor to four generations of people with disabilities who sought to live independently, outside of institutions. She was one of the founders and leaders of the independent living movement nationally and locally, having had a hand in creating the Center for the Independence of the Disabled of New York (CIDNY) in the 1970s and been an officer of the Westchester/Yonkers Independent Living Center in the 1980s and 1990s. As an activist, Anna witnessed up close several key moments in New

York’s disability rights history, including critical actions that led to enactment of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; the elevation of the New York City Mayors Office for People with Disabilities from an advisory role to a commission with political power; and the inclusion of disability rights in the State and City’s human rights laws.

Terry Moakley, who died in 2014, served on the ICS board from 2012 until his death. A Vietnam-era Marine veteran, Terry worked as a disability rights advocate for more than four decades at Eastern Paralyzed Veterans Association, which became United Spinal Association in 2004. NYSILC recognized him for major contributions toward making NYC buses, subways and taxis accessible for people with disabilities and for leading the movement for accessible transportation nationally.

The complete list of inaugural inductees to the NYS Disability Rights Hall of Fame is listed below:

  • Clifton Perez (Rensselaer County)
  • Marilyn E. Saviola (Kings County)
  • Douglas J. Usiak (Erie County)

Posthumously awarded:

  • Anna Fay (Westchester County)
  • Patricio (Pat) Figueroa, Jr. (Albany County)
  • Constance Laymon (Schenectady County)
  • Terence J. Moakley (Rockland County)
  • Michael Peluso (Albany County)

More information about each inductee can be found at

Information about the induction ceremony, promotion, sponsorship, and tickets to the Hall of Fame event are available at a Hall of Fame (HOF) webpage: